Bishop McCarthy Award - Maryknoll Lay Missioners
Home » Returned Missioners » Bishop McCarthy Award

Bishop McCarthy Award

Bishop McCarthy Spirit of Mission Award

Nomination Form


We invite nominations for the Bishop McCarthy Spirit of Mission Award.

This award honors returned missioners who exemplify continued mission service after returning to the United States from their overseas mission experience with Maryknoll Lay Missioners.

Inaugurated in 2019, the award is named after the late Bishop John E. McCarthy of Austin, Texas, who was an ardent supporter of Maryknoll Lay Missioners.

The first awards were conferred on Wynnie Fred Victor-Hynds (Class of 1994) and Cathy Breen (Class of 1989). The 2020 recipients were Joe and Linda Michon (Class of 1990). Last year Marty Roers (Class of 1995) was the recipient.

Read more about the award and previous recipients at

This year the award will be presented at Maryknoll Lay Missioners’ Global Prayer Service on World Mission Sunday.

All nominations must be submitted by August 23, 2022.


Bishop McCarthy Award Nomination Form

Submission deadline: Aug. 15


For more information, contact Debbie Northern at Always A Missioner